It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:04 am

Why are AVI videos listed as "Live" on my share? 

Post Why are AVI videos listed as "Live" on my share?
I'm new to Orb. I'm streaming my videos to my iPhone. I noticed that my AVI files come up as "Live" and cannot be skipped ahead in the file. Meanwhile my WMV files show the length of the video and allow me to skip ahead when watching the file.

99.9% of my videos are AVIs. Do I need to convert them all to WMVs?

Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:32 am
Orb Networks

No need to convert your .avi files to WMVs

Are you able to view the thumbnails of your .avi files via OrbLive and Mycast (on your Orb PC)?

Mon Mar 09, 2009 4:09 am

I think I understand now. Once Orb process my files in it's database (?), I am able to see the length of time and skip ahead. That's the good news.

Now the bad news. I checked my configuration and all my media folders are still present. However, now when I go to Orb on my iPhone (or via MyCast), none of my shares are showing up. Audio and Photo are showing no folders or library items. Video is showing one (1) of my six (6) shared folders. They were all available last night. I'm so confused!

Thanks for your help.

Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:46 am

Oh, and the direct answer to your question was that I could only see the thumbnails of the WMVs, not the AVIs. But maybe they just take longer to process. However, like I said, I cannot access my shared folders any more (?!).

Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:48 am

OK, using OrbLive I was able to restart Orb on my computer and after a few minutes all of my folders returned! :)

Is there a way to do this through the website (Mycast)? That way if I'm at a remote computer and the same problem arrises, I can just restart my Orb at home and hopefully resolve the problem.

Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:05 am